(352) 973-9642

Ashtanga Yoga at Evolve Yoga Studio

Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga class Overview

Ashtanga Yoga is a method of yoga involving synchronizing the breath with a progressive series of postures producing intense internal heat and a profuse, purifying sweat that detoxifies muscles and organs.

Ashtanga Yoga is a dynamic, physically demanding practice synchronizes breath and movement to produce an internal heat designed to purify the body. Ashtanga yoga, with its many vinyasas, is great for building core strength and toning the body. Prepare to sweat as you briskly move through a set sequence. Ashtanga Yoga was founded by K. Pattabhi Jois.

Ashtanga Yoga Sequences and series:

Usually an Ashtanga practice begins with five repetitions of Surya Namaskara A and five repetitions of Surya Namaskara B, followed by a standing sequence. Following this the practitioner begins one of six series, followed by what is called the closing sequence.

[WQSubscriptionForm id=1]

Ashtanga Yoga Reviews

See What Our Customers Say

The value that our clients are getting from our services is our main interest.

I am so grateful for my yoga family.

Evolve Yoga has been my new home over the last year. It is my favorite place to be. I love all of the instructors because they are authentic and incredibly gifted in all aspects of yoga. Evolve offers power, yin, vinyasa flow, Ashtanga, beginner, gentle and restorative yoga. I am so grateful for my yoga family.



“Janet is a wonderful guide that knows her stuff!

The yoga class, I took this morning was S P E C T A C U L A R. Janet is a wonderful guide that knows her stuff! Can’t wait to come back! – Diante

Ashtanga Yoga FAQ's

What is Ashtanga primary series?

The primary series of the Ashtanga yoga practice is a specific sequence of postures, linked together with the breath called vinyasa or breath synchronized movement. This sequence of postures are used as the daily yoga practice for students who practice Ashtanga yoga. The sequence of yoga was originally created and taught by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois in Mysore, India. The Ashtanga yoga practice can now be found worldwide and is particularly popular in North America. The primary series is the first series of postures Ashtanga students must master before moving on to the more advanced series.

What is definition of Ashtanga?

Ashtanga is the Sanskrit, the ancient language of yoga from India, is a type of yoga based on eight principles or eight limbed path of yoga as described in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. The Ashtanga yoga practice consists of a specific series of postures executed in rapid succession, combined with deep, controlled breathing called pranayama.

What are Ashtanga yoga poses?

Ashtanga yoga is considered to be a traditional and disciplined variation of yoga. Ashtanga involves following a specific sequence yoga poses throughout the class. In Ashtanga, these sequences include postures or asanas that range from forward bends, standing postures balances, twists, inversions, backbends, and so much more. The sequence of poses ends with a resting posture called Savasana.

What are Ashtanga yoga sequences?

Ashtanga Vinyasa, or breath synchronized Yoga is made up of six series which are Primary, Intermediate as well as four Advanced Series. Each of the six sequences has a set order of the postures. Every one of the six sequences begins with Surya Namaskar A or Sun Salutations. The students will do five of the A variation followed by five sets of the B variation. Next the students will do the standing sequence. The various class sequences also include back bends, inversions and twists. The series finishes with a relaxing savasana.

How does Ashtanga yoga change your body?

Doing Ashtanga and any style of yoga changes the student’s body in many ways. For one yoga students who practice Ashtanga yoga will become very strong. Yoga practitioners will find themselves becoming much more flexible. Overweight students will lose weight and students who are thin and week will build strength and form. In addition practicing Ashtanga yoga will help students learn to breath more deeply and become more present in their lives both on and off the mat.

How long to learn Ashtanga yoga primary series?

There are many resources that  make the Ashtanga Yoga method achieveable the most basic and modified version of this traditional practice is still quite challenging. The entire primary series usually takes 60 to 90 minutes to complete. The amount of time it takes to master the series depends on many variables such as the student’s current level of yoga experience and physical stamina. Other things to take into consideration are the age of the student, previous injuries and the amount of time the student is willing to  commit to the practice. Done daily most students can master the primary series within six months to two years.

How many series in Ashtanga yoga?

There six different series in the Ashtanga yoga practice. Each series consists of a variety of sequences aimed to help the student advance from the primary, or first series to the next level, intermediate and four versions of the advanced series. Ashtanga yoga practitioners are dedicated to the practice and it becomes a lifestyle more than just an exercised. The lifestyle of an Ashtange yoga practitioner follows the teachings of the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali and the eight limbed path of yoga.

What are benefits of Ashtanga yoga?

There are many benefits of Ashtanga yoga. Just to share a few of the benefits, Ashtanga yoga is a strong style of yoga where students feel empowered. Ashtanga yoga helps to reduce stress. Ashtanga yoga will help you find greater flexibility and improved state of mind. Ashtanga yoga can help students let go of physical, emotional and mental pain while building strength in the challenging postures and sequences. Try an Ashtanga yoga class and discover even more benefits of this challenging style of yoga.

How often should I do Ashtanga yoga?

Most people who practice Ashtanga yoga do the practice every day. To achieve the best results you should first check with your doctor to see if this strong style of yoga is right for you. Some find that they can only fit the Ashtanga yoga practice into their schedule two or three days per week. Doing Ashtanga yoga along with other styles of yoga at least three times per week to achieve the optimum results from your yoga practice.

How many calories does Ashtanga yoga burn?

Ashtanga yoga is a very vigorous style of yoga. Ashtanga yoga students should expect a Moderate Calorie Burn. Taking a one hour Ashtanga yoga class can help you burn a few hundred calories. The amount of calories you burn will depend on a number of variables such as current body weight, level of intensity of the class and your ability to perform all of the sequences taught in the class. For a 140-pound person who spends 60 minutes in an Ashtanga yoga class her or she would burn about 328 calories. During the same one hour Ashtanga yoga class, a 180-pound person might burn aproximately 421 calories. Ashtanga yoga class is an excellent way to burn calories regardless of your body weight.

Have a Question?

Shoot us an email